استخدام منطق الشركات لإحداث تغييرات مجتمعية

ليس من المجدي حقا أن يفرض المجتمع المساءلة على بعض المؤسسات القوية ولا ترفضه على مؤسسات أخرى، وتلك هي القضية الأساسية فيم يخص الشركات. إلا أن مسؤولية فرض المساءلة لن تقع بالطبع على المؤسسات ذاتها لأن الشعب نفسه هو الذي يجب أن يضطلع بهذه المسؤولية. وكما أنك عندما ترغب في فرض المساءلة على الحكومة الديمقراطية تذهب إلى صناديق الاقتراع والتصويت؛ فبنفس الطريقة علينا أن نستفيد فعلا من الآليات القائمة لفرض المساءلة على مؤسسات السلطة الخاصة. وبالنسبة للشركات، هذا يعني استخدام قوى السوق؛ وهذا يعني، أيضا أن نصبح “قوة” في السوق.

عملية صنع القرار الشفافة تماما والثنائية في الشركات تجعل هذا واضحا جدا، فهم مهتمون بما إذا كانت أي سياسة مربحة أو غير مربحة، ولا أحد يحدد، في نهاية المطاف، ما إذا كانت أي سياسة ستصبح مربحة أو لا إلا المستهلكين أنفسهم، فهذه مسؤوليتنا نحن بالكلية. فالشركات تتعلم من سلوكنا ثم تسير وراء ما يخبرهم به السوق؛ وهم مضطرون لفعل هذا.

من الممكن لنا أن نخلق دينامية جديدة تتنافس فيها الشركات بالفعل مع بعضها البعض لتكون أكثر استجابة للمطالب العامة حول كيفية استخدام نفوذهم السياسي، إذا كان السوق سيكافئهم على هذه الاستجابة، أي إذا كانت الاستجابة أكثر ربحية لهم، وإذا كان تجاهل المطالب سيؤدي إلى خسارة مالية.

الشركات الكبرى ليس لديها مشكلة على الإطلاق أن تضغط على الحكومات لإجراء تغييرات تشريعية إذا كانوا يعتقدون أن القوانين تضر بمصالحهم التجارية. فهم لا تنقصهم أي إرادة عن الدفع بالقوانين والسياسات التي يعتقدون أنها ستجعل عمل شركاتهم أسهل وأكثر ربحية. وغالبا هم يحصلون على ما يريدون. لذلك ليس هناك شك فيم إذا كانت الشركات لديها القدرة على التأثير على التغيير عندما تكون مصالحها الخاصة معرضة للخطر؛ فهم يفعلون ذلك طوال الوقت.

إن التحدي الماثل أمامنا هو خلق السيناريو الذي تكون فيه رغباتنا ومطالبنا التي نطالب الشركات بها، هي نفسها رغبات هذه الشركات لأنها تستفيد منها.

أضف تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

Using corporate logic for social change

It is not really viable for society to impose accountability on some powerful institutions and not on others.  That is the basic issue with corporations.  But the onus of responsibility for imposing accountability, of course, is not going to fall upon the institutions themselves; it has to be undertaken by the people.  Just as it is the case with democratic government, if you want to impose accountability, you have to turn up at the polling booth and vote; we also have to actually utilize the existing mechanisms for imposing accountability on institutions of private power.  For corporations, that means utilizing market forces; it means, in fact, becoming a force in the market.

The completely transparent and binary decision-making process of companies makes this very straightforward. They are concerned with whether a policy is profitable or unprofitable, and no one, ultimately, determines whether a policy will be profitable or unprofitable except consumers.  This is entirely our responsibility. Companies learn from our behaviour and they follow whatever the market tells them; they have to.

It is possible for us to create a new dynamic whereby companies will actually compete with each other to be more responsive to public demands on how they use their political influence, if the market rewards them for this responsiveness; if it is actually more profitable to be responsive, and if ignoring demands leads to financial loss.

Major corporations have no problem whatsoever pressuring governments for legislative changes if they believe laws are detrimental to their business interests; they are not the least bit reluctant to push for laws and policies that they believe will make it easier and more profitable for their companies to operate; and more often than not, they get what they want.  So there is no question about whether or not corporations have the power to affect change when their own interests are at stake; they do it all the time.  Our challenge is to create a scenario in which what we want companies to do for us is also something they will want to do because it benefits them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.