دور التاريخ في الإبادة العرقية للروهينجا

ما تقدمه لك هذه المقالة هو تحديدا:
مجرد خلفية تاريخية جيدة جدا عن العداوات العرقية والدينية في ميانمار

أما ما لا تقدمه لك هذه المقالة فهو:
دحض الحجة القائلة بأن المصالح الاقتصادية هي الدافع وراء التطهير العرقي في ولاية راخين.

لا يوجد شيء اختزالي في تفسير الصراع من منطلق اقتصادي محض، فإن كنت تعتقد أن هذا التفسير اختزالي، فأنت لم تفهم هذه الحجة على الإطلاق، ولعل السبب هو أنك تخلط بين أشكال الصراع وأهدافه.

فكون هذا التاريخ الطويل من التوتر العرقي والديني والريبة متواجد فهذا هو السبب تحديدا في أنه تم اختيار إستراتيجية إعادة توجيه عداء راخين بعيدا عن الحكومة المركزية لينصب على الروهينجا، وهذا هو السبب أيضا في أن هذه الطريقة تعمل بكفاءة.

هل من الضروري أن يتم تطهير ولاية راخين عرقيا من الروهينجا من أجل تحقيق المصالح الاقتصادية؟ هذا ليس هو السؤال الصحيح، فالسؤال الأكثر ملاءمة يجب أن يكون: هل من المفيد أن يتم إلهاء أهل راخين عن طريق التنكيل بعدوهم اللدود الذي ظلوا يحتقروه طويلا، بينما يستولى الجيش على الأراضي والموارد التي طالبهم شعب راخين (في العام الماضي) بشكل جماعي أن يجعلوها تحت سيطرته المحلية؟

أين الشيء الـ “ماركسي” في أن ندرك أن الحكومة بحاجة إلى فرض سيطرة مطلقة على موارد راخين كضرورة حتمية؟ عندما يكون 60٪ من الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر في قطاع النفط والغاز، الذي يقع بالكامل في راخين، هل سنختزل المسألة لو قلنا أن الهدف الأساسي للنظام هو إحكام السيطرة على الأرض، وكل الطرق المؤدية إليها، مع فرض السيطرة الكاملة على هذا القطاع؟ هل يمكن ليانغون أن تتحمل انتفاضة في راخين؟ هذه ليست ماركسية أو تفكير انتقائي، بل هي سياسة قائمة على عوامل مادية لا على أهداف نظرية أو أخلاقية. هذا الصراع هو إذا ضرورة عملية للحكومة المركزية، والسعي إلى هذا النوع من الهيمنة لا شك أنه كان سيؤدي إلى نزاع لا يمكن إدارته مع الأغلبية العرقية للدولة؛ الأمر الذي كان سيصبح مكلفا للغاية بطرق لا يسعنا ذكرها. فبدون صراع الروهينجا، لن تكون للحكومة أي ذريعة؛ واختيار الذريعة الأكثر قابلية للتطبيق في هذه الحالة كان واضحا تماما، وهو مرة أخرى، بسبب التاريخ الموضح في هذه المقالة.

هل من الممكن أن تكون أيديولوجية الكراهية قد أصيبت بالسعار، أو أن تغيب الحكومة عن مرمى هدفها الاقتصادي الرئيسي، وتسيطر عليها فكرة إبادة الروهينجا بشكل حصري؟ بالتاكيد! الناس يصابون بجنون الأيديولوجيات إلى لدرجة قد تصل بهم للتدمير الذاتي؛ كما فعل النازيين مثلا. وبالتأكيد المذابح تجري في إطار الكراهية؛ وقد تم اختيار الروهينجا كإلهاء لأن الحكومة تعتبرهم أدنى من البشر ومؤهلين للإبادة الجماعية. ومن المرجح أنهم يشعرون بالرضا عن قتلهم وطردهم، ولكن لا شيء من هذا يتناقض مع حقيقة أن الدافع الأساسي في الصراع هو مصلحة اقتصادية محضة.

رابط المقال:
http://www.newmandala.org/better-political-economy-rohingya-crisis/

أضف تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

The role of history in the Rohingya genocide

What this article provide you with:

A very good historical background on the ethnic and religious enmities in Myanmar

What this article does not do:

Refute the argument that economic interests are driving the ethnic cleansing in Rakhine state.

There is nothing reductionist about explaining the conflict in terms of economics. If you think it IS reductionist, then you do not understand the argument. Perhaps it is a mater of confusing the modalities of the conflict with the objectives.

The fact that this long history of ethnic and religious tension and suspicion exists is precisely why the strategy of redirecting the hostility of the Rakhine away from the central government and towards the Rohingya was chosen, and why it is working.

Is it necessary to ethnically cleanse Rakhine state of Rohingya in order to pursue economic interests? That is not the right question. A more apt question would be; is it useful to distract and divert the Rakhine with their long despised nemesis while the army seizes land and resources over which just last year the Rakhine people en masse demanded to have local control?

Is it “Marxist” to recognise that the government needs to establish absolute control over Rakhine’s resources as an existential imperative? When 60% of FDI is in the oil and gas sector, which is entirely located in Rakhine, is it reductionist to suggest that the primary objective of the regime is secure control of the land, the access, and the complete domination over that sector? Can Yangon afford an uprising by the Rakhine? This is not Marxist or reductionist thinking, it is real politik. This is a practical necessity for the central government, and pursuing such domination outright would very likely lead to an unmanageable conflict with the ethnic majority of the state; something that would be extremely costly in more ways than we can mention. Without the Rohingya conflict, the government would have no pretext; and selecting the most viable pretext in this case was quite straightforward, again, because of the history elaborated in this article.

Is it possible that hateful ideology has, or may, run amok , and the government could lose sight of its prime economic objective, and become fixated on a mission to do nothing else but exterminate the Rohingya? Of course. People certainly can go mad with ideology to the point of self-destructiveness; the Nazis certainly did. And, yes, the massacres are being carried out within the framework of hate; the Rohingya were selected as a diversion because, yes, the government views them as sub-human and eligible for genocide; and they likely derive satisfaction from killing and expelling them. But none of that contradicts with the fact that the primary motive in the conflict is vital economic interest.

http://www.newmandala.org/better-political-economy-rohingya-crisis/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.