علموهم الصيد، ثم اقتلوهم

إليكم هذا الأمر لنفكر فيه مليًا…

تهتم شركات النفط والغاز بشكل متزايد بالاستكشاف قبالة سواحل ولاية راخين، وتعمل شركات مثل وودسايد للطاقة وشل وتوتال وشيفرون بالفعل على عدة حقول في مناطق عبر البحار، وهي على ثقة من أن هناك اكتشافات كثيرة بانتظارها في المستقبل بعد اكتشاف أكبر حقل للغاز الطبيعي في عام 2016 قبالة سواحل راخين.

وستؤثر هذه العمليات، وتوسعاتها تأثيرا عميقا على صناعة الصيد في راخين، التي تعتمد بشكل كبير على الروهينجا بالأخص، وكما ورد في دراسة عن صيد الأسماك الصغيرة في ميانمار:

“… تميل كفة أعداد الصيادين بشكل أساسي نحو الروهينجا حيث أن البوذيون في راخين قد نأوا بأنفسهم تاريخيا عن حرفة الصيد …”

في العادة، تقوم شركات النفط والغاز الكبرى، رغم أنها غير ملزمة قانونا بذلك، ببدء مشاريعها الإنمائية في المجتمعات المتضررة للتعويض عن الأضرار التي لحقت بسبل عيشهم. وجميع الشركات المذكورة آنفا لها برامج مشاركة مجتمعية واسعة النطاق تهدف إلى ضمان أكبر قدر ممكن من العمليات التي لا تؤثر سلبا على سبل عيش المجتمعات المتضررة.

في الوقت الحاضر، كما نعلم، يتعرض الروهينجا للتطهير العرقي في ولاية راخين، أي أن المجتمع المتضرر يتم محوه. وهذا يعني أن أي مشاريع تنموية تستهلها شركات النفط والغاز ستفيد شعب راخين بشكل حصري؛ رغم أنهم لا يعملون بشكل عام في قطاع صيد الأسماك.

يمكن أن ينظر إلى هذا على أنه مظهر من مظاهر الكراهية العرقية التي تضمرها الحكومة للروهينجا (فهم يضمنون بهذا أن أصدقائهم البوذيين هم وحدهم من سيجنون فوائد التنمية)، وفي نفس الوقت يتم استخدام هذا كأداة لتهدئة راخين عن طريق إلهائهم بفرص مادية للتخفيف من عدائهم بسبب استغلال موارد دولتهم.

http://www.osjonline.com/news/view,comment-deepwater-myanmar-could-create-longterm-growth_49282.htm

أضف تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

Teach a man to fish, then kill him

Something to consider…

Oil and gas companies are increasingly interested in exploration off the coast of Rakhine state. Companies like Woodside Energy, Shell, Total, and Chevron are already operating several fields offshore, and are confident that more discoveries are likely following the biggest natural gas discovery of 2016 off the coast of Rakhine.

These operations, and the expansion of these operations will profoundly impact the fishing industry in Rakhine, which disproportionately employs Rohingya. As found in a study on small scale fishing in Myanmar:

“…Rohingya made up a disproportionate numbers of fishermen since Rakhine Buddhists have historically shunned fishing businesses…”

Typically, major oil and gas companies, though not legally obliged to do so, initiate development projects in affected communities to offset the harm caused to their livelihoods.  All of the aforementioned companies have extensive community engagement programs designed to ensure as much as possible that their operations do not negatively impact the livelihoods of affected communities.

At present, as we know, the Rohingya are being ethnically cleansed from Rakhine state; which is to say, the affected community is being erased. This means that any development projects initiated by oil and gas companies will instead exclusively benefit the Rakhine; although they are not, by and large, engaged in the fishing sector.

This can be seen both as a manifestation of the government’s ethnic hatred for the Rohingya (wanting to ensure that their fellow Buddhists alone reap the benefits of development), and as a management tool for placating the Rakhine with material opportunities to abate their hostility over the exploitation of their state’s resources.

http://www.osjonline.com/news/view,comment-deepwater-myanmar-could-create-longterm-growth_49282.htm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.