عاصفة من التغريد تضرب صفحة تلينور مطالبة إياهم بدعم الروهينجا

بيان صحفي: 20 أبريل 2017

شهدت شركة الاتصالات النرويجية تلينور طفرة من الشعبية على الوسم الخاص بها على تويتر في الأيام الأخيرة، ولكن السبب لم يكن أي مبادرة أو استراتيجية جديدة للعلاقات العامة بالشركة.

حملة #WeAreAllRohinygaNow – #الآن_كلنا_روهينجا تتكون من مجموعة من النشطاء المستقلين الساعين لإنهاء قمع الأقلية “الأكثر اضطهادًا في العالم”، وقد تواصلت الحملة مع شركة تلينور عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، وحثت الشركة على اتخاذ موقفًا واضحًا من قضية الروهينجا.

على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية، استثمرت تلينور 1.5 مليار دولار في ميانمار وهي تخطط للمزيد من الاستثمار، فلديها بالفعل 17 مليون مشترك في شبكة الهاتف و85،000 نقطة بيع في جميع أنحاء ميانمار، وهي تخطط لمزيد من النمو. وقد كان لتلينور موقفًا قوية بشأن المسائل الأخلاقية والاستدامة، فأعلنت أن عام 2017 سيكون عام التركيز على هدف الأمم المتحدة رقم 10 للتنمية المستدامة، وهو “تقليل أوجه عدم المساواة”.

تقول جميلة حنان، مديرة الحملة: “لقد بدأنا هذه الحملة من خلال التواصل مع الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة يونيليفر بول بولمان وتلقينا ردًا إيجابيًا. وعندما رأينا أن تلينور كان لها مواقفًا تقدمية تجاه المسؤولية الاجتماعية، مثل يونيليفر، أدركنا أن هذه فرصة لتشجيعهم أيضا على الأخذ بزمام المبادرة للوقوف ضد التطهير العرقي للروهينجا. ونحن نطالبهم بالتأييد العلني لتوصيات الأمم المتحدة، بما في ذلك رد الجنسية الروهينجية لأهلها، وإثارة هذه القضايا مع حكومة ميانمار”.

لقد ظل مجتمع الروهينجا ضحية لعمليات الإخلاء العسكرية بين أكتوبر 2016 وفبراير 2017، مما أدى إلى حرق الآلاف من المنازل، وتشريد عشرات الآلاف من الأشخاص، وقتل ما يقارب 000 1 شخص، من بينهم أطفال وكبار السن، ومئات النساء اللائي اغتصبن، وحوالي 500 من رجال وفتيان الروهينجا تم القبض عليهم بشكل تعسفي. وقد ذكر مقرر الأمم المتحدة الخاص بميانمار أن هناك جرائم ضد الإنسانية وقعت ضدهم، كما قام فريق من الأمم المتحدة بتوثيق العديد من الشهادات الشخصية المروعة للهجمات في تقرير غاية في القتامة والألم. ونحن ندرك أن الوضع الحالي للروهينجا أصبح أكثر هدوءا في الوقت الحاضر، ولكن أعضاء حملة #WeAreAllRohingyaNow يقولون أنه إن لم يتم رد الجنسية للروهينجا، فإن الاضطهاد سيستمر وستقع المزيد من الهجمات المتوقعة، لذا فهم يقولون إنه من الضروري أن يعمل المجتمع الدولي الآن لضمان عدم تدهور الوضع أكثر من ذلك، وأن الشركات متعددة الجنسيات عليها أن تضطلع بدورها الأساسي في إحداث التغيير.

وتقول حنان إنها قد أرسلت رسالة إلكترونية قبل إطلاق الحملة إلى الرئيس التنفيذي للشركة، سيجفي بريك، لإعطائه فرصة للعمل مع النشطاء، وقالت: “لقد فعلنا الشيء نفسه مع بول بولمان، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة يونيليفر، الذي أجاب على الفور. ولكن السيد بريك لم يرد بعد، وقد لاحظنا ترددًا أكبر من جانب بعض المسؤولين التنفيذيين في تلينور للتفاعل مع الحملة”، وأضافت: “يجب أن يعلموا أننا لسنا هنا لنسبب لهم مشاكل، فإدانة الإبادة الجماعية ليست أمرًا خلافيًا، بل العكس تماما. ونحن نرى أن هذا فرصة لتلينور كي تنضم إلى يونيليفر في أخذ زمام المبادرة تجاه هذه القضية. فلا يمكن لأي شركة تخاف على سمعتها كشركة مسؤولة اجتماعيًا أن تظل صامتة بشأن هذه الأمور؛ فالناس في جميع أنحاء المنطقة يهتمون جدا بقضية الروهينجا، لذا فاتخاذ موقف أخلاقي ضد التطهير العرقي الذي يتعرضون له سيكون عنصرًا أساسيًا في نجاح أي شركة في هذه المنطقة”.

للمزيد من المعلومات يرجى الاتصال بالآتي:

جميلة حنان: jamila@allrohingyanow.org – @jamilahanan

شعار الحملة للنشر: http://bit.do/rohingyalogo

موقع الحملة: AllRohingyaNow.org

يمكن نشر هذا التحديث الإخباري واستنساخه.

Tweet storm hits Telenor, calls for Rohingya stand

Press Release. 20th April 2017

Norwegian Telecom company Telenor has experienced a surge in the popularity of its Twitter hashtag in recent days, but not because of any new company initiative or PR strategy.

#WeAreAllRohinygaNow, a campaign by independent activists working to end the oppression of “the world’s most persecuted minority”, has been reaching out to Telenor via social media, urging the company to take a stand for the Rohingya.

Over the past few years, Telenor has invested $1.5 billion in Myanmar and plans to invest more. It already has 17 million subscribers to its telephone network and 85,000 points of sale across Myanmar, with plans for further growth. Telenor has a taken strong stance on ethical matters and sustainability. It has declared 2017 to be a year in which they will focus on the UN’s Sustainable Development Goal number 10, that of “Reduced Inequalities”.

“We began this campaign by reaching out to Unilever CEO Paul Polman and we received a positive response,” says Jamila Hanan, director or the campaign. “When we saw that Telenor has taken a progressive position on social responsibility, like Unilever, we realised that this is an opportunity to encourage them also take a lead in standing against the ethnic cleansing of the Rohingya. We are asking them to publicly support the United Nations recommendations, including the restoration of Rohingya citizenship, and to raise these issues with the Myanmar government.”

The Rohingya community was victim to a military ‘clearance operation’ between October 2016 and February 2017, which saw thousands of homes burnt, tens of thousands of people displaced, an estimated 1,000 people killed including babies and the elderly, hundreds of women raped and approximately 500 Rohingya men and boys arbitrarily arrested. The UN special rapporteur for Myanmar has stated that crimes against humanity took place, and a UN team documented many horrific personal testimonies of the attacks in a Flash Report that makes for grim reading. The current situation for the Rohingya is understood to be calmer at present, but members of the #WeAreAllRohingyaNow campaign say that if citizenship is not granted to the Rohingya, the persecution will continue and further attacks are anticipated. They say it is therefore imperative that the international community acts now to ensure that the situation does not deteriorate any further, and multinational corporations have an essential role to fulfill in bringing about change.

Hanan said that prior to launching the Telenor outreach campaign she emailed their CEO Sigve Brekke to give him an opportunity to work with the activists. “We did the same with Paul Polman, CEO of Unilever, who immediately replied. Mr. Brekke has yet to respond, and we have noticed greater hesitation on the part of some Telenor executives to interact with the campaign,” Hanan explains. “They need to know that we are not here to cause them problems. The fact is, condemning genocide is not controversial, quite the opposite. We see it this as an opportunity for Telenor to join Unilever in taking a lead on this issue. No company that cares about its reputation as a socially responsible business can afford to be silent on this matter; people all across the region care deeply about the oppression of the Rohingya, and taking a moral stand against ethnic cleansing is going to be vital to any company’s success in that area.”

For more information, please contact:

Jamila Hanan: jamila@allrohingyanow.org @jamilahanan

Campaign logo for publication: http://bit.do/rohingyalogo

Campaign website: AllRohingyaNow.org

This news update may be disseminated and reproduced.