أسئلة هامة حول تواطؤ شركة تلينور في مذابح الروهينجيا

بيان صحفي: 5 ديسمبر 2018

تم إرسال استجواب لشركة الاتصالات النرويجية Telenor بخصوص استخدام برج الهاتف المحمول الخاص بهم من قبل القناصة لإطلاق النار على المدنيين، وكموقع للتخلص من جثث القتلى في ولاية راخين، ميانمار. هذا وتدعو فرق الروهينجيا لحقوق الإنسان إلى إجراء تحقيق مستقل ومتسم بالشفافية من قبل الحكومة النرويجية.

هناك احتمال أن تكون شركة الاتصالات النرويجية، Telenor، متواطئة في مقتل العشرات من المدنيين الروهينجيا الهاربين من ولاية راخين في أواخر أغسطس من العام الماضي، وفقا لتقرير جديد من 70 صفحة نشرته شبكة كالادان للصحافة. وبحسب ما ورد في التقرير قام القناصة من قوات أمن ميانمار، المعروفة باسم تاتماداو، بتسلق برج هاتف المحمول الخاص بشركة Telenor وقاموا بإطلاق النار بشكل عشوائي على القرويين الهاربين. وهناك ادعاءات أيضا أن قوات التاتماداو جمعت جثث ضحايا القنص وألقت بهم في حفرةتحت قاعدة البرج. ويعتقد أن الحفرةكانت في الواقع غرفة تفتيش تحت الأرض للتحكم الجزئي في البرج.

قامت حملة #WeAreAllRohingyaNow بالتواصل مع شركة Telenor أول مرة في أبريل 2017، بعد أن قامت القوات بموجة من موجات ما يطلقون عليه التطهيرحيث يتم إزالة قرى بأكملها، بدءًا من أكتوبر 2016 وحتى يناير 2017. تقول جميلة حنان: اتصلنا بالرئيس التنفيذي للشركة وهو السيد/ Sigve Brekke تمامًا كما فعلنا مع السيد/ Paul Polman من شركة يونيليفر.” وتضيف جميلة، التي ترأس حملة #WeAreAllRohingyaNow لحقوق الروهينجيا: في ذلك الوقت، كان هناك مستثمرون آخرون في ميانمار، وقد قمنا بحثهم على الوقوف مع حقوق الروهينجيا، وعلى قراءة تقرير الأمم المتحدة الأخير الذي يوثق العديد من الجرائم المروعة التي ارتكبها جيش ميانمار ضد الروهينجيا ولمعارضة هذا التطهير العرقي. وحذرنا من أن التقاعص معارضة هذه الإبادة الجماعية سيؤدي إلى عواقب وخيمة عليهم جميعا، وأن مسؤوليتهم الأخلاقية تتمثل في استخدام نفوذهم للمساعدة في التوصل إلى حل إيجابي في هذه المسألة، كما طلبنا من Telenor أن تصدر بياناً يعبر عن قلقها، وأن تطالب بحماية الروهينجيا ورد جنسيتهم التي سلبت منهم“.

وتقول حنان إن Telenor تجاهلت مراسلاتها ومكالماتها ونداءاتها عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، وتضيف كان رد Telenor متباينا بشكل صارخ جدا مع Unilever التي استجابت بشكل إيجابي. أما Telenor فلم ترد أبداً علينا، رغم الدعوات المتكررة لمطالبتهم بالرد، بل أنه قد تم حجب بعض ناشطينا على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي من قبل التنفيذيين في Telenor!! وظل هذا الأمر حتى سبتمبر 2017 عندما وجدناهم يبدون قلقهم من هذه المسألة، وتزامن هذا بعد بضعة أسابيع فقط من الوقت الذي يُزعَم فيه أنه قد تم استخدام منشأتهم كبرج للقنص، وبينما تم منعهم على ما يبدو من الوصول إلى هذه المنطقة. وقد أصدروا بيانا علنيا، ولكن بدلا من إدانة الرد العسكري، أكدوا على التزامهم بنشر شبكاتهم النقالة في جميع أنحاء البلاد، بما في ذلك راخين. والآن نحن نتساءل عما إذا كان هذا الرد بمثابة ضوء أخضر للجيش لمواصلة عمليات التطهير… أي أن الأمر مجرد صفقة عمل كالمعتاد، وبدون أن يرد ذكر الروهينجيا في بيانهم“.

وقد ادعت Telenor أن البرج المعني لم يكن يعمل في ذلك الوقت، وأن موظفي Telenor لم يُسمح لهم بالدخول إلى المنطقة، بناء على كلام موظفيهم. وذكروا أنه في الفترة بين أغسطس وديسمبر 2017، تم حظر دخولهم إلى المنطقة بناءً على تقييم Telenor لوضع السلامة والأمن الخاص بميانمار. ثم اندلعت الهجمات فجأة عبر راخين في 25 أغسطس، لذا فتتساءل حنان عن سبب إغلاق الموقع قبل هذه الحملة العسكرية.

ثم كتبت حنان إلى Telenor لتسألها عما إذا كانوا قد تلقوا أي تحذير مسبق عن العملية العسكرية، وتقول: يبدو أن Telenor أخلت منشآتها قبل الهجمات ثم عادت متأخرة جداً بعد انتهائها!! وتشير هذه الإجراءات إلى احتمال قيام Telenor بالتنسيق مع القوات المسلحة فيما يتعلق بأمن مواقعها.”

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تقول حنان بأن Telenor لا يمكنها التهرب من المسؤولية بمجرد إلقاء اللوم على أحد مورديها، وتقول: ووفقًا لمعايير الشركة الخاصة، المنصوص عليها في موقعها على الشبكة، فإن Telenor تقول فيه حرفيا أنها تقوم برصد شركاء الأعمال لدينا للقيام بأنشطتهم وفقًا لمعايير Telenor للسلوك التجاري المسؤول“. ونحن الآن نريد أن نعرف المزيد عن هذا الرصد”. كشركة اتصالات، ألم تقم Telenor بتثبيت دوائر تلفزيونية مغلقة لمراقبة مرافقها التي كانت موجودة في راخين؟ أليسوا يدعون أنهم يحترمون حقوق الأشخاص في البلدان التي يعملون فيها، من خلال عدم انتهاك حقوق الآخرين، أو التواطوء في انتهاكات الآخرين؟؟ وسواء كان البرج يعمل أو لا، فإن هذا المورد متعاقد مع شركة Telenor؛ وبالتالي فإن المورد وTelenor، كلاهما مسؤولان عن ضمان عدم سوء استخدام البرج. إن مسؤولية Telenor واضحة تمامًا وفقًا لبروتوكولاتها الداخلية“.

تسعى حملة #WeAreAllRohingyaNow إلى الحصول على إجابات بشأن شركاء Telenor في ميانمار، ونوع العناية الواجبة التي اتخذت لضمان عدم مشاركة هؤلاء الشركاء في اضطهاد الروهينجيا.

لقد ذكرت Telenor أن شركتها في ميانمار قد شرعت في الحوارمع السلطات المعنية للتعبير عن قلقها والسعي للحصول على المزيد من الحقائق. وترى حملة #WeAreAllRohingyaNow أن هذه الاستجابة غير كافية، وتطالب Telenor والحكومة النرويجية بإجراء تحقيق مستقل وشامل يتسم بالشفافية عما حدث، بما في ذلك فحص جنائي وتفصيلي لجميع مرافق Telenor، كما تدعوا لعمل نفسي الشيء في المناطق المحيطة بمرافقهم بما في ذلك التحقق في آبار المياه حيث يزعم أنه قد تم إلقاء الجثث. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإنهم يطالبون Telenor بوقف جميع عملياتهم في ميانمار إلى حين اكتمال هذا التحقيق، حتى يتأكدوا من عدم تواطؤ موظفيهم أو شركائهم التجاريين مع جيش ميانمار في أعمال الإبادة الجماعية.

للمزيد من المعلومات يمكن التواصل مع:

Jamila Hanan: jamila@allrohingyanow.org @jamilahanan

Campaign logo for publication: http://bit.do/rohingyalogo

Campaign website: AllRohingyaNow.org

This news update may be disseminated and reproduced.

Questions raised about Telenor complicity in Rohingya massacres

Press Release. 5th December 2018

Norwegian telecom company Telenor questioned over use of mobile phone tower by snipers to fire upon civilians, and as a dumping site for bodies in Rakhine state, Myanmar. Rohingya rights group calls for transparent, independent investigation by Norwegian government.

Norwegian telecom company, Telenor, may be complicit in the shooting deaths of dozens of fleeing Rohingya civilians in Rakhine state in late August of last year, according to a new 70 page report published by the Kaladan Press Network. Snipers from the Myanmar security forces, known as Tatmadaw, reportedly scaled a Telenor mobile phone tower and began indiscriminately shooting fleeing villagers. It is further alleged that Tatmadaw forces also collected the bodies of the sniper victims and dumped the corpses in a ‘hole’ at the base of the tower. It is believed that the ‘hole’ was in fact the partially underground control room for the tower.

The #WeAreAllRohingyaNow campaign first reached out to Telenor in April 2017, after an initial round of clearance operations had taken place, starting in October 2016 through to January 2017. “We contacted Telenor CEO Sigve Brekke just as we did with Paul Polman of Unilever, and other investors in Myanmar at the time,” says Jamila Hanan, who heads the Rohingya human rights campaign. “We urged them to stand up for the rights of the Rohingya, to read the recent UN flash report documenting many horrific crimes carried out by the Myanmar military against the Rohingya and to publicly oppose the ethnic cleansing. We warned that failure to oppose this genocide would lead to controversy and argued that it was their ethical responsibility to use their influence to help bring a positive solution to the matter. We called on Telenor to put out a statement of concern, calling for the protection of the Rohingya and the return of their citizenship.”

Hanan says that Telenor ignored their correspondence, phone calls and appeals made over social media. “The response from Telenor was a stark contrast to that of Unilever who did respond positively. Telenor never replied to us, despite repeated calls to do so, and some of our activists were blocked on social media by Telenor executives. It wasn’t until September 2017 that we observed them voice any concern at all on the matter, just a few weeks after their facility had allegedly been used as a sniper tower and whilst they were apparently barred from accessing the area. They put out a public statement, but instead of condemning the military response, they instead reiterated their commitment to rolling out their mobile network across the country, including in Rakhine. Now we are wondering if this was a green light for the military to continue its clearance operations: this was business as usual. There was no mention of the Rohingya in their statement.”

Telenor has claimed that the tower in question was not operational at the time, and that Telenor staff were not allowed into the area, based on their own staff’s judgment. They stated that between August and December 2017 their entry into the area was prohibited ‘based on Telenor Myanmar’s assessment of the safety and security situation’. The attacks broke out suddenly across Rakhine on 25th August; so Hanan questions what prompted the site closure prior to the military crackdown.

She has therefore written to Telenor to ask if they had received any prewarning of the military operation. “It sounds like Telenor vacated their facility in advance of the attacks and returned very late. These actions suggest the possibility that Telenor may have been coordinating with the armed forces regarding their sites’ security.”

In addition, Hanan argues that Telenor cannot evade responsibility by simply passing blame to one of its vendors; “According to the company’s own standards, stated on their website, Telenor will ‘monitor…our Business Partners to conduct their activities in accordance with Telenor’s standards for responsible business conduct’. We would like to know more about what form this monitoring took. As a telecoms company, did they not install CCTV to watch over their facilities that were located in Rakhine? They claim to respect the rights of the people in the countries where they operate ‘by not violating the rights of others, nor being complicit in violations by others’. Whether the tower was operational or not, the vendor was under contract with Telenor; the vendor, and by extension, Telenor, was responsible to ensure that the tower was not misused. Telenor’s responsibility is crystal clear according to their own internal protocols.”

The #WeAreAllRohingyaNow campaign is seeking clarification regarding who are Telenor’s business partners in Myanmar, and what due diligence had been completed to ensure those partners were not involved in the persecution of the Rohingya.

Telenor has stated that Telenor Myanmar have ‘initiated dialogue’ with relevant authorities to express concern and seek further facts. The #WeAreAllRohingyaNow campaign believes this response is insufficient. They are calling on Telenor and the Norwegian government to conduct a thorough and transparent independent investigation into what happened, including a detailed forensic examination of all Telenor facilities, and to call for the same in the areas surrounding their facilities including the investigation of water wells where bodies are alleged to have been dumped. In addition, they are calling for Telenor to halt all operations in Myanmar until such an investigation has been completed and they can be certain that neither their staff nor their business partners are colluding with the Myanmar military in acts of genocide.

For more information, please contact:

Jamila Hanan: jamila@allrohingyanow.org @jamilahanan

Campaign logo for publication: http://bit.do/rohingyalogo

Campaign website: AllRohingyaNow.org

This news update may be disseminated and reproduced.