blog

الشركات العملاقة تؤكد على دعمها للروهينجا

العمليات العسكرية مازالت مستمرة في ولاية راخين، ورغم أن الحكومة تدعي أنها تستهدف مسلحين إلا أنها تسببت في نزوح ما لا يقل عن 30٪ من السكان المدنيين الروهينجا من البلاد، وخلفت ربما الآلاف من القتلى؛ وها هي الآن تثير تساؤلات أخلاقية بشأن الاستثمار الأجنبي في بلد متهم بارتكاب جريمة الإبادة الجماعية.

حملة #WeAreAllRohingyaNow، وهي مبادرة تضم مجموعة من النشطاء المستقلين حول العالم، تسلط الضوء على دور مجتمع الأعمال الدولي في المساهمة في إيجاد حل للأزمة. وتقول جميلة حنان، مديرة الحملة: “إذا قمنا بمقارنة التغطية الإخبارية العالمية لأحداث ميانمار مع ما يتم ذكره في أخبار التجارة والأعمال، سنتصور لأول وهلة أنهم يتحدثون عن بلدين مختلفين!!” وتضيف: “من ناحية، تقول الأمم المتحدة إن ميانمار هي نموذج التطهير العرقي حسب الكتاب، ويدين مجلس الأمن سياسة الأرض المحروقة التي يتبعها الجيش؛ ومن ناحية أخرى، يتم وصف ميانمار بأنها المقصد الأفضل للاستثمار الأجنبي، بدون إبداء أي تردد أمام عمليات القتل والاغتصاب الجماعي، وتشريد مئات الآلاف من الأبرياء. يجب على المستثمرين اتخاذ موقف واضح من هذه القضية ما لم يرغبوا في ربط علامتهم التجارية بجرائم ضد الإنسانية”.

لقد تواصلت حملة #WeAreAllRohingyaNow مع الشركات متعددة الجنسيات المستثمرة في ميانمار وقامت بحثهم على الالتزام علنا بحماية الروهينجا، اللذين غالبا ما يشار إليهم على أنهم “الأقلية الأكثر اضطهادا في العالم”، كما قامت بحثهم على تأييد توصيات الأمم المتحدة لحل هذه الأزمة.

أول شركة تتجاوب مع هذه الدعوة كانت شركة يونيليفر، وهي ثالث أكبر شركة للسلع الاستهلاكية في العالم. وتقول حنان: “الرئيس التنفيذي للشركة، بول بولمان، تجاوب معنا على الفور، وبعد حملة إعلامية قصيرة، أكدت يونيليفر علنا على دعمها للروهينجا… ثم بعد حملة أطول بكثير، تمكنا من إقناع شركة الاتصالات النرويجية تلينور، وهي أيضا مستثمر رئيسي في ميانمار، على فهم مدى إلحاح القضية، فتعهدوا هم أيضا على التزامهم بأهمية مراعاة حقوق الإنسان فيم يتعلق بالروهينجا”.

يبدو أن إستراتيجية الحملة تحول اتجاه الرياح لصالح الجهود التي يقودها رجال الأعمال لإنهاء الإبادة الجماعية… فيوم السبت الماضي، انضم بول بولمان إلى وسم #WeAreAllRohingyaNow على تويتر، في تغريدة تؤكد على أهمية إحياء التعاطف في العلاقات الدولية، ونفترض أن نفس الشيء ينطبق على الأعمال التجارية أيضا. فها هي الشركات الكبرى بدأت تشك في حكمة ممارسة الأعمال التجارية في ظل التطهير العرقي المستمر، وحتى الحكومات أصبحت أكثر حساسية بشأن متابعة الاتفاقات التجارية مع ميانمار، إذ أنه في يوم 14 سبتمبر، قررت لجنة البرلمان الأوروبي المعنية بالتجارة الدولية تأجيل زيارتها إلى ميانمار إلى أجل غير مسمى بسبب تدهور حالة حقوق الإنسان في البلد. وقال رئيس اللجنة بيرند لانج فى بيان صحفى: “من الواضح انه في ظل هذه الظروف لن نتمكن من التصديق على اتفاقية استثمار مع ميانمار”.

ويقول شهيد بولسين، كبير الاستراتيجيين في الحملة: “تمتلك ولاية راخين أغلب الموارد غير المستغلة في ميانمار. وسيكون من الصعب جدا على المستثمرين الاستفادة من تنمية هذه الموارد دون اعتبارهم متواطئين في جرائم الجيش؛ لاسيما وأن هناك خططا للتنمية في المناطق التي تحدث فيها المذابح بالتحديد. علاوة على ذلك، فحتى الشركات التي ليس لها مصالح مباشرة في ولاية راخين، بدأ يتم النظر إليها على أنها عناصر تمكين لحملة الجيش بما أن النظام لم يواجه أي رد فعل اقتصادي من قبل المستثمرين، الأمر الذي يشجع الحكومة على تحدي الانتقادات الدولية”.

ولا تزال الحكومة في يانغون تعتقد أن سياستها الحديدية في ولاية راخين لن تنفر المستثمرين، فيقول يو أون نينغ أوو المدير العام لمديرية إدارة الاستثمارات والشركات، يوم الجمعة الماضي: “الصراعات المستمرة لا تؤثر على الاستثمارات الأجنبية، لذا فليس لدينا ما يدعو للقلق”. غير أن ادعاءه بأن رجال الأعمال “يهتمون بفرص عملهم” أكثر من اهتمامهم بانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان والقمع السياسي، يبدو أنه يتناقض مع ما أعرب عنه بول بولمان عندما قال في تغريدته على تويتر: “لقد نسينا كيف نغيث بعضنا البعض، ولكن التعاطف الإنساني هو مفتاح بقائنا…”

لقد أبرزت حملة #WeAreAllRohingyaNow دور القطاع الخاص في حل الأزمة في ميانمار، والمزيد من الشركات من المرجح أن تنضم إلى صف “القيادة الأخلاقية” الذي بدأه شركات عملاقة مثل يونيليفر وتلينور لاستخدام نفوذهم الكبير في إنهاء ما وصفه الكثير من المراقبين بأنه أسوأ إبادة جماعية تحدث في القرن الحادي والعشرين.

أضف تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

Corporate giants affirming support for Rohingya

An ongoing military operation in Rakhine state which the government claims targets militants, but which has caused at least 30% of the Rohingya civilian population to flee the country, and left possibly thousands dead; is raising ethical questions about foreign investment in a country accused of committing genocide.

The #WeAreAllRohingyaNow Campaign, an initiative by independent activists around the world, has been highlighting the role of the international business community in contributing to a solution to the crisis. “If you compare the world news coverage of Myanmar and the reporting in the business press, you would think they are talking about two different countries,” says Jamila Hanan, the campaign’s director.  “On the one hand, the United Nations is saying that Myanmar presents a textbook case of ethnic cleansing, and the Security Council is condemning the scorched-earth policy of the army; and on the other hand, Myanmar is being touted as a great destination for foreign investment, with no reluctance being expressed about mass killings, gang-rapes, and the displacement of hundreds of thousands of innocent people. Investors are increasingly going to have to take a stand on this issue unless they want their brands to be associated with crimes against humanity.”

#WeAreAllRohingyaNow has been reaching out to multinational corporations invested in Myanmar and urging them to publicly commit to the protection of the Rohingya, often referred to as “the world’s most persecuted minority”, and to endorse United Nations recommendations for resolving the crisis.

The first company to respond to their call was Unilever, the third largest consumer goods company in the world.  “CEO Paul Polman replied to us immediately, and after a brief social media campaign, Unilever did indeed publicly affirm its support for the Rohingya,” Hanan explains.  “After a much longer campaign, we were able to help Norwegian telecom company Telenor, also a major investor in Myanmar, understand the urgency of the issue, and they too pledged their commitment to the human rights of the Rohingya”.

The campaign’s strategy seems to be turning the tide in favour of a business-led effort to end the genocide.  On Saturday, Paul Polman joined the #WeAreAllRohingyaNow hashtag on Twitter, in a tweet emphasizing the importance of reviving empathy in international relations, and presumably, in business as well.  As major corporations are beginning to doubt the wisdom of doing business amidst ongoing ethnic cleansing, even governments are becoming more sensitive about pursuing trade agreements with Myanmar.  On 14 September, the European Parliament Committee on International Trade decided to postpone indefinitely its visit to Myanmar due to the deteriorating human rights situation in the country. The Chair of the Committee, Bernd Lange said in a press statement “It is clear that under these conditions, the ratification of an investment agreement with Myanmar is not possible”.

“Rakhine state holds much of Myanmar’s untapped resources,” says Shahid Bolsen, the Campaign’s chief strategist.  “It is going to be extremely difficult for investors to benefit from the development of those resources without being regarded as complicit in the crimes of the army; particularly since there are development plans in precisely those areas where massacres are taking place.  Furthermore, even companies that have no direct interests in Rakhine state are, nevertheless, starting to be viewed as enablers of the army’s crackdown because the regime is facing no economic backlash from investors, which seems to embolden the government to defy international criticism”.

The government in Yangon still believes that its iron-fisted policy in Rakhine state will not alienate investors.  U Aung Naing Oo, director-general of Directorate of Investment and Company Administration said on Friday, “Ongoing conflicts do not have an impact on foreign investment, so we have nothing to worry about”.  However, his further contention that businessmen “care more about their business opportunities” than about human rights violations and political repression, seems to run counter to what was expressed by Paul Polman when he tweeted, “We have forgotten how to rescue each other. Human empathy is key to our survival”

The #WeAreAllRohingyaNow Campaign has highlighted the role of the private sector in resolving the crisis in Myanmar, and more and more companies are likely to follow the moral leadership of giants like Unilever and Telenor to use their considerable influence to stop what many observers are calling the 21st Century’s worst full-blown genocide.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.